A Call to Our Brethren!

While we may be Lloyd Kaufman’s offspring by blood, his fans/co-collaborators /co-conspirators are certainly his spiritual  spawn. In this way we are all one slightly dysfunctional family.

So please do not limit your posts on this blog to the contest submissions, but let the river run. We implore you, share your experiences with us about Papa Lloyd.  How has he been a father figure for  you?  Or perhaps how has he been a mother figure to you?  (other than his offers to breastfeed)

We would love it if we could all use this blog to share  pictures, memories, stories, insights and philosophical projectile vomit  related to the experience of growing up Troma style.

10 thoughts on “A Call to Our Brethren!

  1. I had the great and degrading fortune of being an unpaid intern for Troma Entertainment. Great for many reasons, degrading for the simple fact that mopping shit one time the toilet clogged was my internship’s claim to fame.

    Lloyd, though, was a gem worthy of mopping shit. He sat at his desk, doing what he does, while we interns hustled and bustled but when I ever had to approach him my visions of a lunatic madman of film, head full of rants, gave way to a gentle, older, sometimes bitter, but always inviting man. He was inviting when I asked him if I could pick his brain a bit and has continued to stay into contact with me when I bother him via email for my current magazine project, Jagazine.

    As most would know, Lloyd Kaufman is one of a kind and I will attest working by his side. It takes guts and brains and balls to do your own thing in this world and Lloyd certainly has enough of all three to still keep everything going. Not that he showed me or anything…

    • Wow Dan, thanks for your response. What a co-winky-dinc, he makes us mop up spill over- from from toilets at home as well! I once complained bitterly about this task, and he reassured me that it was all part of his larger parenting strategy to convey the bitter truth about life through experiential metaphors. Also, Toxie mops things up, so its not THAT degrading!
      Congrats on the cool Magazine, your website looks great! Troma should be a subscriber to Jagazine, i want to read it!

      • Thanks! Please feel free to subscribe, we always want to keep expanding and the Troma community was always and still is one of our most rewarding go-to places for new and exciting things. Can’t wait for TromaDance!

  2. My first contact with Lloyd was at the DeadCenter film festival in Oklahoma, last summer, he was promoting Poultrygeist and signing autographs in front of the theater.
    As he was signing my copy of “Direct Your own Damn movie” I was talking about my new film, Sewer Chewer, and he offered to be in it. Out of no where, I wasn’t hitting him up, nothing, he just offered to be in this micro budget film from a filmmaker who had never fully finished a movie before. My jaw dropped, my hero just offered to be in my film, no way. I went home thinking, this guy is like everyone else, full of it. So a few days later I emailed him, just to see what he would say, and before I knew it, 2 weeks later, he was back in Oklahoma and I was in his hotel room filming.
    My experience with him was brief but enlightening, he showed me in that 3 hours a small semester of film production tricks in a small hotel room. I will be forever thankful, and the performance itself was awesome, I let him run with it and he created a small scene with so much going on that I would never have thought to add, brilliant. Later that evening at a small after party in the arts district he spoke briefly with me about cameras and gear and encouraged me when I brought up my own feelings of inadequacy due to my micro budget and less than pro gear, I am very grateful to have met and work with him.
    sincerely
    James Hawley

  3. I dont have a funny story about meeting Lloyd, nor have I ever interacted with him at all, but thought i’d share this with you:

    Ive been a fan of Troma entertainment ever since I was in my mid- teens and watching Up All Night or Commander USAs Groovy Movies. I still remember going to friends houses and MAKING them watch the stuff with me, and my straight-laced father and I would even enjoy Troma films together, either on TV or via our weekend video rentals. Great stuff. I still remember how happy I was that my father enjoyed (no, not just watched, enjoyed; he thought the gags were hilarious- and often picked out the rentals) the same movies as me. I still love and watch Troma films.

    That’s all well and good, but its not just the films that make Lloyd so well respected (at least to me). Ive met a lot of fake people in the entertainment world as a musician, there are a lot of sniveling yes men, two-faced backstabbers, and massive ego trips to make someones head spin. The thing Ive always noticed about Lloyd is his honesty, his genuine love for his art, and his undaunted support for the “little guy.” Ive never heard of anyone saying “That guy is a jerk” or horrible stories of how they met Lloyd and he blew them off.

    I could be wrong, and he could just be the best salesman in the world- but even then, he still seems to go out of his way to acknowledge and support his fans, independent media, and generally anyone who isnt a corporate brown-noser. You gotta respect someone who doesnt look down their nose at you. He seems like one of us, and that makes Troma not just entertainment you can enjoy, but a company you want to support. There aren’t many of those around.

  4. I remember one time I met Lloyd in a bar and it was one of the greatest moments of my life. After witnessing him beat the shit out of a midget in the bathroom stall, then steal the little guys wallet he then went back to the bar, sat in his favourite chair, and proceeded to drown his sorrows with blue drinks in large round glasses with fruit, umbrellas and crazy straws coming out of the drink.
    I decided to sit next to him. After pointing his ass my way and letting of a stink that almost killed me where I sat he offered to buy me a drink (which I accepted) and we spent what felt like forever talking about life in general, amidst several crude jokes Lloyd couldn’t resist to tell me.
    I just couldn’t believe it, I grew up watching this guys movies and being entertained by each and everyone of them, and here I was now sharing a drink with the man I come to love, looked up to and respected.
    Then I finally finished my drink, the drink Lloyd bought me and found myself dozing off, right their on the alcohol stenched bar. I woke up some time later, disorientated, scared and stark naked and tied up to a crummy hotel bed with an ass so sore, it brought me considerable pain to even break wind months later.
    But what makes me love Lloyd, what makes me respect and appreciate him until the day I’m in the dirt is the fact that he left a ‘thank you’ card on the side table for me.

    You’re welcome Lloyd, you are very welcome :o)

  5. HAHA i am in the library trying to study for an exam on Islamic Sufism, but instead I am laughing out loud at your very spiritual experience with papa Lloyd. Like a true mystic, he facilitated an outer body- experience for you. (also known as roofying you). I guess this type of inspiring account is what we should come to expect of him. The only thing that surprises me is not that he beat up a midget or that he drugged you, but that he actually paid for your drink! wow you must be someone special!

  6. I remember one time I met Lloyd in a bar and it was one of the greatest moments of my life. After witnessing him beat the shit out of a midget in the bathroom stall, then steal the little guys wallet he then went back to the bar, sat in his favourite chair, and proceeded to drown his sorrows with blue drinks in large round glasses with fruit, umbrellas and crazy straws coming out of the drink.
    I decided to sit next to him. After pointing his ass my way and letting of a stink that almost killed me where I sat he offered to buy me a drink (which I accepted) and we spent what felt like forever talking about life in general, amidst several crude jokes Lloyd couldn’t resist to tell me.
    I just couldn’t believe it, I grew up watching this guys movies and being entertained by each and everyone of them, and here I was now sharing a drink with the man I come to love, looked up to and respected.
    Then I finally finished my drink, the drink Lloyd bought me and found myself dozing off, right their on the alcohol stenched bar. I woke up some time later, disorientated, scared and stark naked and tied up to a crummy hotel bed with an ass so sore, it brought me considerable pain to even break wind months later.
    But what makes me love Lloyd, what makes me respect and appreciate him until the day I’m in the dirt is the fact that he left a ‘thank you’ card on the side table for me.

    You’re welcome Lloyd, you are very welcome

Leave a Reply

